Division 1 Bracket Finals
Delamar, DE
Share |

DELMAR, Del.-- By virtue of their wins in Pro, Heavy E.T, Street and Motorcycle/Sled, at the NHRA Northeast Division Summit Racing Series Finals, four more lucky drivers have qualified themselves to race for the Summit Racing Series National Championship at the Automobile Club of Southern California NHRA Finals, November 11-14 in Pomona, Calif. Once in Calif., the winners, Brian Brown, Chuck Morris, Mike Barber and James Farmer, will join drivers from NHRA's six other geographic divisions to run for the National Championship.

In Super Pro, Brown of Marlboro, N.J., earned one of three wins for Atco Raceway, when he defeated Island Dragway's Joe Cabets. Cabets of Throop, Pa., was also the runner-up in the Race of Championships in the Super category, which was won by Numidia Raceway's Randy Krause.

Joining Brown in the winner's circle after his win in Heavy E.T., was fellow Atco Raceway runner, Chuck Morris of Windsor Locks, Conn. In the final, Morris eliminated Old Bridge Township Raceway Park's James Antonette Jr., of Valley Stream, N.Y.

Taking out another one of Raceway Park's racers was Maple Grove Raceway's Mike Barber of Douglasville, Pa. In the Street final, Barber defeated Brian Mullaney of Rockaway, N.J., to take the win and earn himself the chance to compete in California.

Racing for host track, U.S. 13 Dragway, James Farmer of Felton, Del., earned the win in Motorcycle/Sled, when he took out E.S.T.A. Safety Park's Dennis Boston of Canastota, N.Y.

Taking home the coveted team championship was Old Bridge Township Raceway Park. Over the course of the day, Raceway Park earned a total of 61 points. Finishing second was Maple Grove Raceway, with 56 points. The third place title went to host track, U.S. 13 Dragway, who earned 54 points overall. While the honors for the National Dragster Team Spirit award was host Track U.S. 13 Dragway.

In other NHRA Summit Racing Series Northeast Division Series Finals event competition, the High Challenge presented by Luzerne County Community College title was earned by Atco Raceway's Jason Lawrence of Hamilton, N.J. Lawrence defeated Island Dragway runner, Scott Hakucsa of Flanders, N.J., in the class final.

Following are the final round results from the NHRA Northeast Division Summit Racing Series Finals being held this weekend at U.S. 13 Dragway:

Brian Brown, Marlboro, N.J., dragster, 7.607 seconds, 173.67 mph def.
Joe Cabets, Throop, Pa., dragster, 7.884, 169.74

Chuck Morris, Windsor Locks, Conn., '80 Malibu, 9.943 seconds, 137.74 mph def.
James Antonette, Valley Stream, N.Y., '98 Grand Am, 9.888, 135.86

Mike Barber, Douglasville, Pa., '92 Mustang, 12.007 seconds, 107.82 def.
Brian Mullaney, Rockaway, N.J., '83 Monte Carlo, 12.452, 103.54

James Farmer, Felton, Del., '84 Kawasaki, 21.900 seconds, 42.67 mph def.
Dennis Boston, Canastota, N.Y., '96 Ski Doo, 9.719, 131.29

Jason Lawrence, Hamilton, N.J., '69 Camaro, 14.654 seconds, 93.00 mph def.
Scott Hakucsa, Flanders, N.J., Camaro, 12.065, 113.49

< < back > >