Milan, MI
Share |


On Friday December 2, 2005 at the Crystal Gardens in Southgate, Michigan, some of Michigan and Ohio’s top drag racers were awarded.  Among them was Rick Baehr from Wellington, Ohio who recently won the title “World No Box Champion”.  The awards went to Randy Easterday from Indiana, Champion of Michigan Powersports Motorcycle class.  Be Cool Power Cooling Street E.T. class Tom Kraft from Westland, MichiganAmsoil Modified E.T. class Champion Mickey Adams from Canton, MichiganHedman Hedder Top E.T. class Champion Mike Savoia from Tecumseh, Michigan.  Advanced Product Design Quick 32 series were, Masta Performance Top Dragster Champion Bob Carter from Alto, Michigan and F.A.S.T. Top Sportsman Champion, John Hagele from Toledo, Ohio.

The most popular racing in the 2005 season was the Heads Up program.  This racing has exceptionally tough competition.  The Champions are D.O.T. Street Bike Ronnie Mitchell from Redford.  Wheel to Wheel Powertrain “All Motor” class Lane Lambert from New Hudson.  Holbrook Racing Engines “10.5 Outlaw” class Dan Millen from Dearborn HeightsDyno Serve “Run What Ya Brung” class Jimmy Detrick from Garden City.

Sport Compact Champion is Ron Kerns from Milan, Michigan and Domestic Champion is Marlon Howes from Livonia, Michigan.  Wheel to Wheel Friday night Street race Champion is Wes Buckley from Toledo, Ohio.  ARP Saturday series crowned the Aeromotive Fuel Box Champion Brian Howell from Willis, Michigan and The Speed Shop No Box Class Champion Jim Yacko from Southgate, Michigan.

Pat and Shawn Norton from Taylor, Michigan were acknowledged with a plaque for the role the husband and wife team played as team captains for out of town competitions.

Anthony Gabriel from Maybee, Michigan was acknowledged for his outstanding performance at the IHRA Division 3 finals where he won the Street E.T. Championship.

Other winners were Motorcycle, Joe Novak, Sr. from Carleton, Michigan. The winner of Modified E.T. Doug Heinisch is from Swanton, Ohio and Top E.T. Joe Dailey is from Ypsilanti, Michigan.

The following awards are voted on by the racers:

Motorcycle class:

Crew Chief of the Year- Bob Johnson Sr., Ypsilanti, Mi

Best Appearing- Chris Donahue, Toledo, Ohio

Hard Luck-Jerry Schaffner, Holland, Ohio

Most Improved- Mark White, Milan, Mi

Sportsman of the Year- Richard Litten, Toledo, Ohio


Points series racers:  

Male Crew Chief- Jeff Hardy of Monroe, Mi

Female crew chief- Vicki Kline of Saline, Mi

Best Appearing- Bob Payton of Fowlerville, Mi

Rookie of the year- Will Crawford of Saline, Mi

Hard Luck- Denny Warren of Milan, Mi

Most Improved- Tracy Muchler of Gregory, Mi

Sportsman Award- Deanna Yacko of Southgate, Mi

The class runner up’s that were honored are, Chris Donahue, Robert Johnson, Jim Scavone, Matt Luttrell, Wes Buckley, Dale Davis, Brian Howell and Kirby McLennan.

The third place winners were Joe Novak, Sr., Lee Warren, Ron Hagar, Anthony Gabriel, Jim Scavone, Dale Davis, Wes Buckley, Dave Gotts and Jack Kassin.

After the awards and a champion toast everyone enjoyed music, dancing and a great celebration.



< < back > >