JEGS Super Quick turns 21, expands to 10-race series in 2009
Hendersonville, TN
Share |

After celebrating its 20th anniversary last year, the 2009 North Central Division JEGS Super Quick Series turns 21 with an expanded 10-race series. The season will kick off April 4 and 5 at Gateway International Raceway in Madison, Ill., as part of the NHRA Spring Sportsman Challenge XVII National Open and will conclude at the 18th annual Fall Classic National Open at O’Reilly Raceway Park at Indianapolis, Oct. 10 and 11.

The Gateway and Indianapolis events will be expanded 64-car fields while each of the other eight races will be the standard 32-car quickest qualifiers against the 4.50-second minimum.  Each qualifier must dial-in within .20 of their qualifying elapsed time during eliminations with a new maximum 5.99 dial-in imposed in 2009.  It should be noted that the 5.99 maximum would not have come into play during the 2008 season.

Each winner will earn a $2,000 payday, which is made possible by the support of series sponsor JEGS High Performance. They may add to their purse with product contingency postings and other bonus award programs.  As in the past, the season championship will be based on a racer’s best six point finishes from the 10-race 2009 series.

Last year nine-different drivers made it into the winner’s circle and the points battle for the championship went down to the final race of the season with seven different drivers having a mathematical chance for the title.  Ultimately, James Monroe emerged with the crown and joined Bo Boles, Tim Branon, Tommy Radloff and Randy Estridge as the only two-time division champions of the longest running eighth-mile series in the country.

“We’re extremely proud of the series’ longevity and success. Last year we had more racers in the points than ever before and with this year’s expanded schedule we think that it will give even more racers an opportunity to be part of the series,” said Division Director Jay Hullinger.  “We are appreciative of JEGS’ continued support of the series and are glad to have them as members of our North Central Division family.”

The expanded 10-race schedule includes each of last year’s host tracks as well as the return of Pacemakers Dragway Park in Mt. Vernon, Ohio, which hosted Super Quick events from 1998 to 2000.  The Pacemakers event, Sept. 12, will be the final event counting for the annual JEGS Super Quick Shootout field.  The season’s top eight qualifiers based on qualifying points awarded at the season’s first nine-events will be featured in the special race-within-a-race at O’Reilly Raceway Park at Indianapolis.

Another example of the close competition that has become a trademark of the JEGS Super Quick Series is that in the 12 years the JEGS Super Quick Shootout has been contested no driver has won it twice.  

The JEGS Super Quick Series sponsorship is part of JEGS Automotive Inc.’s extensive support of sportsman racing programs which include the annual JEGS Allstars event and title sponsorship of the three NHRA SPORTSnational events including the JEGS NHRA Northern SPORTSnationals in Columbus, Ohio.

Information regarding JEGS Mail Order can be found at and for media/fan resources check out

For more information on the 2009 NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series check related stories on or contact the North Central Division office 765-689-8727.


April 4 & 5                    NHRA Spring Sportsman Challenge XVII

                                    NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series (Bonus 64-car field!)

                                    Gateway International Raceway - Madison, Illinois

May 9                           NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series

                                    Midstate Dragway – Havana, Illinois

May 23                         23rd Annual NHRA SportsNATIONAL OPEN

NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series

                                    Beech Bend Raceway Park - Bowling Green, Kentucky

May 30                         NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series

                                    Windy Hollow Dragway – Owensboro, Kentucky

June 27                        NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series

                                    Muncie Dragway – Muncie, Indiana

July 18                         NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series

                                    Kil-Kare Dragway – Xenia, Ohio

August 1                       NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series

                                    Bunker Hill Dragstrip – Bunker Hill, Indiana

August 15                     NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series

                                    Chandler Motorsports Park – Evansville, Indiana

September 12              NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series

                                    Pacemakers Dragway Park, Mt. Vernon, Ohio

October 9-11                18th Annual NHRA FALL CLASSIC NATIONAL OPEN

NHRA JEGS Super Quick Series (Bonus 64 car field!)

October 10                   NHRA JEGS Super Quick Shootout

                                    O’Reilly Raceway Park at Indianapolis – Clermont, Indiana

< < back > >