Milan Dragway Outlasts Summit Motorsports Park for Team Title
Indianapolis, IN
Share |

The event ran into the wee hours on Saturday night and into Sunday morning but the NHRA North Central Division Summit Racing Series Finals is in the books. NHRA and track officials wanted to dodge the rain that was forecast for all day Sunday. Racers in four categories, Super Pro, Pro, Sportsman and Motorcycle, representing tracks from across the region took to the track vying for individual and team honors.

The squads from Milan Dragway in Michigan and Summit Motorsports Park in Norwalk, Ohio, battled it out for the team championship and Team Milan came away with the title, scoring a total of 54 points to Summit’s 49. The difference came in the all-Milan Dragway Super Pro final which was round No. 9 for the class. Summit Motorsports Park had two final round appearances as well, in Pro and Motorcycle but Pro eliminations were eight rounds and Motorcycle was six rounds.

Leading Milan Dragway to the team championship were Super Pro racers David Hadyniak of Garden City, Mich., and Garry Fleenor of Port Clinton, Ohio. Hadyniak took the win and will have the chance to race for a national championship at the NHRA Finals in Pomona, Calif., in November.

In Pro, Milan, Ohio, racer Brian Hurst, racing for Summit Motorsports Park, wheeled his ’70 Nova to the win over Steve Collier, Xenia, Ohio, in his ’96 Fox. Collier, racing for Kil Kare Raceway, red-lighted in the final.

Tracy Crutcher of Pleasant View, Tenn., running for Beech Bend Raceway, ousted John Smith, Girdler, Ky., racing for London Dragway, in the final. Crutcher was driving a ’66 Chevy II and Smith was in a ’80 Malibu.

Clinton, Iowa’s Bruce Damewood, representing Midstate Dragway, rode his ’83 Suzuki to the win over Kevin Adams who was piloting a ’92 Suzuki. Adams was representing Summit Motorsports Park.

Hurst, Crutcher and Damewood will all have the chance to join Hadyniak in Pomona to race for the national championship against the four winners from NHRA’s other six divisions. The national champion in each class will come away with a winner-take-all $5,000 payday.

The High School Championship, which was to be run on Sunday, has been postponed until the division’s Fall Classic National Open in October.


Following are the NHRA North Central Division Summit Racing Series Finals champions:


David Hadyniak, Garden City, Mich., ‘95 Racecraft, Milan Dragway, 4.777, 142.70 def. Garry Fleenor, Port Clinton, Ohio, Milan Dragway, ‘03 undercover, 4.877, 141.22



Brian Hurst, Milan, Ohio, Summit Racing Equipment Motorsports Park, ‘70 Nova, 7.118, 95.58 def. Steve Collier, Xenia, Ohio, Kil Kare Raceway, ‘96 Fox, foul



Tracy Crutcher, Pleasant View, Tenn., Beech Bend Raceway Park, ‘66 Chevy II, 12.262, 105.46 def. John Smith, Girdler, Ky., London Dragway, ‘80 Malibu, 12.008, 107.07



Bruce Damewood, Clinton, Iowa, Midstate Dragway, ‘83 Suzuki, 8.990, 136.87 def. Kevin Adams, Brunswick, Ohio, Summit Racing Equipment Motorsports Park, ‘92 Suzuki, 8.363, 155.81


Following are the final team point standings for the NHRA North Central Division Summit Racing Series Finals:


Team Total

1. Milan Dragway 54

2. Summit Motorsports Park 49

3. O’Reilly Raceway Park 40

4. Coles County Dragway USA 37

5. Kil-Kare Dragway 36

6. Gateway Int’l Raceway 35

London Dragway 35

Beech Bend Raceway Park 35

9. Bunker Hill Dragstrip 34

10. Route 66 Raceway 33

11. Bluegrass Raceway Park 32

12. Lyons Raceway Park 30

Edgewater Sports Park 30

14. Chandler Motorsports Park 29

15. Pacemakers Raceway Park 28

16. National Trail Raceway 27

Crossroads Dragway 27

18. Midstate Dragway 26

19. Tri-State Racew ay 25

20. Muncie Dragway 22

21. Ohio Valley Dragway 19

22. Mid-Michigan Motorplex 18

Windy Hollow Dragway 18

24. Great Lakes Dragway 12

< < back > >