NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Results - NHRA New England Nationals
Epping, NH
Share |

Peter Luciano, Keith Mayers and Zac Biron all captured their first NHRA national event wins this weekend at the NHRA New England Nationals and the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series at New England Dragway. 

Luciano, Malvern, Pa., faced off with Willow Grove, Pa., racer Steve Szupka in the final of Comp Eliminator taking the early lead and holding off Szupka for the win.  Luciano clocked in at 8.573 seconds at 144.88 mph in his ‘10 Cobalt to hold off the quicker Szupka and his ’05 dragster at 8.144, 158.80.

Mayers, Middletown, Del., drove his ’85 Porsche to the win in Super Street and Biron, Weare, N.H., won for the home state in Top Dragster in his ’09 dragster.  Mayers, in his second final round appearance, ran down Chris DePascale in 10.914 seconds at 151.48 mph to DePascale who ran too quick by .003 seconds at 9.897 in his ’74 Vega.  Biron met up with Michael Galofaro in his final round taking the .030-second hole-shot and holding on in a double break out win for the NHRA Wally trophy.

Three former NHRA Lucas Oil National Champions visited the winner’s circle led by Joe Santangelo in Super Stock.  Santangelo, Marlborough, Conn., used a .020 second package to force Lincoln Morehead to run too quick and break-out.  The 2011 Stock National Champion Santangelo went 8.861 at 135.82 for the win in his ’12 Camaro.

Alan Kenny, who won the ’12 Super Comp Championship, defeated Jason MacNeil for his seventh national event trophy running 8.870 at 180.77 I Super Comp.  MacNeil was in his first final round and recorded a perfect .000-second reaction time but ran too quick, breaking out and handing the win to Kenny.

Sawyer earned his 5th win taking the early lead over Alan’s son Jason Kenny, and holding on with a .024 second package in the Super Gas final.  Sawyer, Acton, Mass., crossed the finish line in his ’02 Camaro in 9.911 seconds at 170.39 mph.

Rounding out the winners were Donald Pires and his ’72 Nova in Stock Eliminator and Tiina Duncanson, Acton, Ont., in Pro Stock Snowmobile.  Pires, Sumerset, Mass., went seven rounds to take home the trophy after beating Jim Roberts, Portsmouth, R.I., and Duncanson overcame a big starting line advantage by Heath Smith to win in 8.112 seconds, 159.17 mph on her ’10 Ski-Doo.

The following are the final results from the NHRA New England Nationals and the NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series at New England Dragway:



Peter Luciano, Chevy Cobalt, 8.573, 144.88  def. Steve Szupka, Bantam Roadster, 8.144, 158.80.


Joe Santangelo, Chevy Camaro, 8.861, 135.82  def. Lincoln Morehead, Chevy Camaro, 10.208, 122.58.


Donald Pires, Chevy Nova, 12.053, 87.71  def. Jim Roberts, Chevy Camaro, foul.


Ray Sawyer, Chevy Camaro, 9.911, 170.39  def. Jason Kenny, Chevy Corvette, 9.890, 159.76.


Alan Kenny, Dragster, 8.870, 180.77  def. Jason MacNeil, Dragster, 8.865, 159.21.


Keith Mayers, Porsche, 10.914, 151.48  def. Chris DePascale, Vega, 10.897, 135.46.


Zac Biron, Dragster, 6.784, 197.28  def. Michael Galofaro, Dragster, 6.508, 209.23.



Tiina Duncanson, Ski-Doo, 8.112, 159.17  def. Heath Smith, Ski-Doo, 8.500, 150.23.


< < back > >