NHRA South Pacific Division 7 Summit Racing Series Finals - Complete Results
Las Vegas, NV
Share |

Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park captured the team championship while Russ Stryker, Howard Devore, Steven Umberger and Freddie Camarena took home the individual championship at this weekend’s NHRA Pacific Division Summit Racing Series Finals at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Wild Horse Pass (Phoenix) gathered up 66 points to hold off Auto Club Dragway at Auto Club Speedway (Fontana, Calif.) and the home track of Las Vegas who tied for second at 64 points each.

Stryker, Truxton, Ariz., worked his way through the field in Super Pro and ran 8.167 seconds at 162.72 mph in his final round victory over Sean Eling, Rohnert Park, Calif., who clocked in at 10.529 seconds, 127.40 mph.

In Pro, it was Devore, Flagstaff, Ariz., and his ’69 Nova who outlasted the competition knocking out Brandon Umberger in the final with a pass of 10.671 seconds, 117.88 mph while Brandon’s cousin Steven Umberger, Grand Junction, Colo., defeated Gary Hairfield, San Diego, Calif., with a time of 11.936 at 110.10 mph for the Sportsman title.

Camarena, Placentia, Calif., rounded out the list of division champions with a lap of 7.994 seconds, 167.76 mph to take down Tom Medlin, 8.378, 156.48.

In the Summit Super Showdown competition it was Don Toia, Tucson, Arizona, taking the early lead and the win in Super Pro over Zach Meziere out of Escondido, Calif; Ryan Smith, Chandler, Ariz., defeated Jeff Lasalle, Santa Rosa, Calif., running 11.383 on an 11.38 dial in Pro; Willie Hoefer, Yucaipa, Calif., took the Sportsman trophy against fellow Yucaipa racer Jack Swanson in a double breakout with Hoefer taking a slight lead off the start; and the Bike/Sled title went to Medlin, La Mirada, Calif., who outran Dakota Sun, La Mirada, Calif., by about 16 inches.

The four Summit Super Showdown champions will advance to the NHRA Summit National Championship in November at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona along with Steven Umberger who earned the Sportsman wild card entry with his win. The five racers will face off with the winner’s from the other six NHRA divisions for a winner take all national championship.

In the High School Summit Super Showdown it was AJ Cameron, Bakersfield, Calif., driving his ’66 El Camino to the win over Remy Reynolds, San Diego, Calif. Cameron went 12.051 seconds at 100.52 mph to Reynolds’ 14.202, 91.42 in his ’67 Ranchero.

1. Wild Horse Pass 66
2. Auto Club Dragway Fontana 64
2. Las Vegas Motor Speedway 64
4. Sonoma 50
5. Las Vegas Motor Speedway 2 47
6. Auto Club Famoso 46
7. Sacramento Dragway 42
8. Rocky Mountain Raceway 39
9. Western Colorado Dragway 38
10. Tucson Dragway 32
11. Auto Club Dragway Fontana 2 29
11. Barona 1/8 mile Dragstrip 26
13. Irwindale 25
14. Albuquerque Dragway 19
15. Auto Club Famoso 2 17
16. Wild Horse Pass 2 13
17. Top Gun Raceway 12
18. Sonoma 2 8
19. Rocky Mountain Raceway 2 6
20. Samoa Dragstrip 3
21. Redding Dragstrip 2

The following are final results from the 2016 NHRA Summit Racing Series Pacific Division Team Finals:

Russ Stryker, Truxton, Ariz., '07 American, 8.167, 162.72 def. Sean Eling, Rohnert Park, Calif.,
'91 Corvette, 10.529, 127.40.

Howard Devore, Flagstaff, Ariz., '69 Nova, 10.671, 117.88 def. Brandon Umberger, Grand Junction, Colo., '77 Chevette, 10.174, 101.64.

Steven Umberger, Grand Junction, , '63 Nova, 11.936, 110.10 def. Gary Hairfield, San Diego, Calif., '11 Corvette, 12.395, 111.27.

Freddie Camarena, Placentia, Calif., '98 Suzuki, 7.994, 167.76 def. Tom Medlin, La Mirada, Calif.,
'93 Suzuki, 8.378, 156.48.

The following are final results from the 2016 NHRA Summit Racing Series Pacific Division Summit Showdown:

Don Toia, Tucson, Ariz., '11 Yancer, 7.774, 153.44 def. Zach Meziere, Escondido, Calif., '11 Mullis, 7.766, 173.96.

Ryan Smith, Chandler, Ariz., '63 Falcon, 11.383, 118.98 def. Jeff Lasalle, Santa Rosa, Calif., '67 Coronet, 10.445, 120.68.

Willie Hoefer, Yucaipa, Calif., '94 Camaro, 12.606, 108.00 def. Jack Swanson, Yucaipa, Calif., '67 Camaro, 12.741, 100.47.

Tom Medlin, La Mirada, Calif., '93 Suzuki, 8.400, 156.43 def. Dakota Sun, La Mirada, Calif., '15 Kawa, 8.807, 150.73.

A J Cameron, Bakersfield, Calif., '66 El Camino, 12.051, 100.52 def. Remy Reynolds, San Diego, Calif., '67 Ranchero, 14.202, 91.42.

< < back > >