Thunder Valley Nationals - Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Results
Bristol, TN
Share |

The NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series was in town for the 17th annual NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals at Bristol Dragway in Bristol, Tenn. Jimmy Hidalgo Jr., Donaldsonville, La., and Steve Furr, Harrisburg, N.C., led the list of winners celebrating with their teams.

Super Gas standouts, Furr and Jacob Elrod, Harrod, Ohio, took the starting line for battle in the final round. Furr took a great light at the tree (.008 seconds) and went on to win his sixth national event Wally trophy. The North Carolina racer recorded a victory pass of 9.914 seconds, 149.75 mph. Elrod followed with 9.896 seconds, 156.34 mph.

Hidalgo Jr. also had a stellar reaction time (.005 seconds) and took the easy win in the Stock Eliminator final round. John Leach, Baltimore, Md., jumped out of the gate too early, setting off the red light. Hidalgo Jr. finished up at 10.990 seconds, 117.12 mph. Leach, runner upped at 10.790 seconds, 122.19 mph.

The Stanfield family headed into the Super Stock final round looking to take a second win of the day, as Aaron Stanfield, Bossier City, La., took a near perfect light at .001 seconds, to upend Angela Travis, Conover, N.C., in the Top Dragster presented by Racing RV’s final round. However, Greg Stanfield was unable to follow up on his son’s victory as Marty Rinehart Jr., Thomasville, Pa., grabbed the better start, holding off Stanfield for the victory in the Super Stock final round. Rinehart Jr., recorded a victory pass of 9.980 seconds, 129.23 mph; Stanfield 8.731 seconds, 158.17 mph.

Clayton Roberts of Willow Spring, N.C., prevailed in a tough, close battle against Jeffrey Barker, Kathleen, Ga., in the Top Sportsman Presented by Racing RV’s final round. Roberts finished at 7.542 seconds, 180.31 mph, as Barker came in at 6.704 seconds, 197.28 mph.

Defending Top Fuel Harley Champion Jay Turner, Julian, N.C., faced off against North Carolina rival Tili Tharpe of East Bend. Tharpe upset Turner in a tight race, running 6.549 seconds, 205.01 mph as Turner came in second at 7.603 seconds, 134.20 mph.

David Morris rounded out the winner’s list, taking the Super Comp national event Wally trophy back to York, S.C., running 8.902 seconds, 159.89 mph to defeat the red hot John Labbous of White House, Tenn.

The following are the final results from the NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals at Bristol Dragway:



Marty Rinehart Jr., Chevy Camaro, 9.980, 129.23 def. Greg Stanfield, Camaro, 8.731, 158.17.


Jimmy Hidalgo Jr., Pontiac GTO, 10.990, 117.12 def. John Leach, Plymouth Roadrunner, Foul - Red Light.


David Morris, Dragster, 8.902, 159.89 def. John Labbous Jr, Dragster, 8.891, 171.75.


Steve Furr, Chevy Camaro, 9.914, 149.75 def. Jacob Elrod, Chevy Corvette, 9.896, 156.34.


Clayton Roberts, Chevy Cavalier, 7.542, 180.31 def. Jeffrey Barker, Chevy Cobalt, 6.704, 197.28.


Aaron Stanfield, Dragster, 6.370, 210.41 def. Angie Travis, Dragster, 6.288, 213.33.


Tii Tharpe, Dixie, 6.549, 205.01 def. Jay Turner, Dixie, 7.603, 134.20.

< < back > >