NHRA Summit ET Finals - North Central Division 3 Results
Indianapolis, IN
Share |

The team from Milan Dragway combined for a total of 53 points to win the Team Championship for the 2017 NHRA North Central Division Summit Finals at Lucas Oil Raceway with individual winners led by local racer Boyd Butcher in Pro ET. Host track Lucas Oil Raceway finished second in the team standings at 52 with Summit Motor Sports Park coming in third at 48 points.

Butcher, Beech Grove, Ind., took the win with his ’73 Nova, and ran 6.773 seconds at 101.21 mph against Jim Laughlin, Albany, Wis., in his ‘78 Malibu.  Laughlin left early with a red light handing the win to Butcher.

Carli Keil, Rossford, Ohio, faced off with Bill Swain, Ionia, Mich., in the Super Pro final with Keil taking the early lead. Keil’s final time was 4.911 seconds at 139.39 mph with Swain close behind with a time of 4.833 at 138.96 mph.

Johnnie Cook, Howell, Mich., defeated Blake Hopper, Mattoon, Ill., in the Sportsman finals where Cook had the advantage off the line and got around Hopper to take the win.

Thomas Ewig, South Milwaukee, Wis., and Mike Krueger, Lowell Ind., went head to head in the Motorcycle Finals. Ewig came in with the win at 9.037 seconds and 143.70 mph.

Butcher, Keil, Cook and Ewig will all advance to the NHRA Summit National Championship at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona in November where they will face off with the winners of the other six NHRA Division Finals.

In the Sunoco Race of Champions Indiana racers Josh Rogers in Super Pro and Wesley Wells in ET Motorcycle took home wins.

Rogers won against Kenneth King with a time of 5.305 seconds at 128.53 mph. Wesley defeated Chad Isley, Charleston, Ill., coming in at 8.269 seconds and a speed at 156.10 mph in ET Motorcycle.

The Pro ET winner was Jason Ford, Kettering, Ohio. Ford put quite a bit of distance between him and John Haunt from Grant Park, Ill., taking the win with a time of 6.490 seconds and at 100.82 mph.

In Sportsman Chad Eaton, Paris, Ill., ran a 12.010 second at 110.71 mph to Ellis Buth, Warrensburg, Ill., who fouled.


The following are the final results from the 2017 NHRA Summit Racing Series North Central Division Finals:



Milan Dragway, Milan, Mich.                                                 53

Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis, Brownsburg Ind.           52

Summit Motorsports Park, Norwalk, Ohio                             48

Coles County Dragway USA, Charleston, Ill.                       46

Kil-Kare Dragway, Xenia, Ohio                                             44

Crossroads Dragway, Terre Haute, Ind.                                 41

National Trail Raceway, Columbus, Ohio                              38

Gateway Motorsports Park, Madison, Ill.                              38

Pacemakers Dragway Park, Mount Vernon, Ohio                  36

Edgewater Sports Park, Cleves, Ohio                                    36

Route 66 Raceway, Joliet, Ill.                                                 36

Beech Bend Raceway Park, Bowling Green, Ky.                  33

Byron Dragway, Byron, Ill.                                                    33

Ohio Valley Dragway, Louisville, Ky.                                   22

Mid-Michigan Motorplex, Stanton, Mich.                              12

Beacon Dragway, Paducah, Ky.                                             10



Carl Keil, Rossford, Ohio, '15 Diamond, 4.911, 139.39 def. Bill Swain, Ionia, Mich., '15 American, 4.833, 138.96.



Boyd Butcher, Beech Grove, Ind., '73 Nova, 6.773, 101.21 def. Jim Laughlin, Albany, Wis., '78 Malibu, foul.



Johnnie Cook, Howell, Mich., '95 Camaro, 13.459, 97.11 def. Blake Hopper, Mattoon, Ill., '12 Challenger, 13.995, 86.24.



Thomas Ewig, S Milwaukee, Wis., '95 Kawasaki, 9.037, 143.70 def. Mike Krueger, Lowell, Ind., '86 Ninja, 8.464, 156.32.




Josh Rogers, Reelsville, Ind., '96 Gebhardt, 5.305, 128.53 def. Kenneth King, Lacon, '02 Miller, 4.794, 142.58.



Jason Ford, Kettering, Ohio, '72 Vega, 6.490, 100.82 def. John Haut, Grant Park, Ill., '66 Chev II, 5.819, 116.96.



Chad Eaton, Paris, Ill., '85 Monte Carlo, 12.010, 110.71 def. Ellis Buth, Warrensburg, Ill., '72 Lemans, foul.



Wesley Wells, Greenwood, Ind., '00 Suzuki, 8.269, 156.10 def. Chad Isley, Charleston, Ill., '00 Suzuki, 8.835, 141.94.

< < back > >