NHRA Summit ET Finals - Northeast Division 1 Results
Numidia, PA
Share |

The team from Cecil County Dragway combined for a total of 65 points to run away with the trophy and the Team Championship for the 2017 NHRA Summit Racing Series Northeast Division Finals at Numidia Dragway.  Individual winners were led by local racer and Numidia Dragway runner Mike MacKey in Street followed by Todd Marin, Butch Weinreich, Austin Youndt, and Kevin Kohr.

Host track Numidia Dragway held on to finish second in the team standing with 45 points as Mason Dixon Dragway and Esta Safety Park tied for third at 44. 

MacKey, Paxinos, Pa., got out first in his Dodge Dart, then ran 12.195 seconds at 109.79 mph to defeat Bill Doczi, Clifton, N.J., and his ’68 Camaro.  Doczi closed the gap but ran too quick by four hundredths of a second with the break out.

Martin out of Highland Lakes, N.J., faced off with James Moshier, Williamstown, N.J., in the Super Pro final with Moshier taking the early lead.  Martin charged back and ran dead on his dial at 7.640 for the win and the trophy.  Martin had his car dialed in the late rounds running .004 and .003 seconds to his dial in his semifinal and quarterfinal rounds.

Weinreich, Rosedale, Md., and Youndt, Stevens, Pa., took the wins in Pro ET and Motorcycle respectively.  Weinreich wheeled his ’69 Dart to the win when Chris Gonier, Monroe, N.J., left early with the red light.  Youndt and Jeff Tisdale were locked in a close one as both left the line together with Youndt holding on for the win in 9.845 seconds at 134.76 mph to the quicker 9.181, 136.14 of Tisdale, Glastonbury, Conn.

Martin, Weinreich, MacKey and Youndt will be joined by Berry Stevens in advancing to the NHRA Summit National Championship at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona in November where they will face off with the winners of the other six NHRA Division Finals. Stevens took home the Motorcycle Race of Champions title with a win over Jeffrey Santin.  The Northeast Division was selected in a special drawing earlier this year to bring their Race of Champions Motorcycle winner that will complete the Summit National Championship field.  Stevens, Lafayette, N.J., went 9.741, 131.87 to win by about seven inches over the quicker Santin clocking in at 9.531.

Local racer Kevin Mohr, Myerstown, Pa., raced to the win in the High School class as he was a tick better at both ends of the track in defeating Anthony Capirose, Perkasie, Pa.  Mohr went 12.339, 98.09 to Capirose’s 13.078, 103.23.

In otherr Summit Racing Series Race of Champions action, Bob Murphy and John Crutchfield led the charge taking wins in Super Pro and Pro respectively.  Murphy, Aston, Pa., was better at both ends of the track but not by much as Chris Camplone, West Chester, Pa., was right on his heels.  Murphy came in at 7.660, 170,69 with Camplone crossing the line in 7.526 seconds, 177.37 mph.

Crutchfield of Maryland, was out first, forcing Michael Rosa, Southington, Conn., to chase him down and breakout giving Crutchfield the win at 9.644, 140.52 to Rosa’s 9.694, 130.30.

Dave Raser, Oxford, Pa., had to run down Dave Harley III, Newfield, N.J., in the Street Race of Champions final and did so running 13.523 on the 13.52 dial in his ’84 Wagon.  Harvey had the better reaction time and drove his Monte Carlo to a 12.011, 103.66 finish.


The following are final results from the NHRA Summit Racing Series Northeast Division Finals:



Cecil County Dragway                       65

Numidia Dragway                              45

Mason-Dixon Dragway                      44

Esta Safety Park                                 44

Old Bridge Twp. Raceway Park         42

Maple Grove Raceway                       36

New England Dragway                      32

Island Dragway                                  28

Lebanon Valley Dragway                   26

Atco Raceway                                    23

South Mountain Raceway                  19

Team Canada                                      7



Todd Martin, Highland Lakes, N.J., dragster, 7.640, 170.13  def. James Moshier, Williamstown, N.J., dragster, 10.078, 132.80.



Butch Weinreich, Rosedale, Md., '69 Dart, 11.256, 103.94  def. Chris Gonier, Monroe, N.J., '69 Firebird, foul.



Mike MacKey, Paxinos, Pa., Dart, 12.195, 109.79  def. Bill Doczi, Clifton, N.J., '68 Camaro, 12.298, 110.84.



Austin Youndt, Stevens, Pa., GSXR, 9.845, 134.67  def. Jeff Tisdale, Glastonbury, Conn., 9.181, 136.14.



Kevin Kohr, Myerstown, Pa., dragster, 12.339, 98.09  def. Anthony Capirose, Perkasie, Pa., Trans Am, 13.078, 103.23.




Bob Murphy, Aston, Pa., '09 Racetech, 7.660, 170.69  def. Chris Camplone, West Chester, Pa., dragster, 7.526, 177.37.



John Crutchfield, Ne, Md., '82 Buick, 9.644, 140.52  def. Michael Rosa, Southington, Conn., '64 Nova SS, 9.694, 130.30.



Dave Raser, Oxford, Pa., '84 Ltd Wagon, 13.523, 96.85  def. Dave Harvey III, Newfield, N.J.,  Monte Carlo, 12.011, 103.66.



Barry Stevens, Lafayette, N.J., dragster, 9.741, 131.87  def. Jeffrey Santin, Swedesboro, N.J., dragster, 9.531, 141.03.

< < back > >